How to Enable Delete Confirmation box in Windows 11

When you try to delete any file or folders in the previous version of windows that is Windows 10, a delete confirmation window pops up and upon accepting this window, the files or folders get deleted and moved to the recycle bin. But by default, Windows 11 does not pop up the delete confirmation window whenever a user tries to delete a file or folder. This can be really confusing because if by mistake the users click a delete button in the context menu after right clicking anything, it straight away deletes the file. Therefore, in this article we are going to show you how to enable the delete confirmation window in Windows 11.


ADVERTISEMENT

How to Show Delete Confirmation Window in Windows 11

 

Step 1: Press Windows + I keys together on your keyboard to open Settings app.

Step 2: Click Personalization option on the left menu of the Settings window.

Step 3: Then, Click Themes on the right side of the window as shown below.

 

Personalization Themes 11zon

 


ADVERTISEMENT

Step 4: Then, Click Desktop icon settings at the bottom of the page as shown in the below screenshot.

 

Desktop Icon Settings 11zon

 

Step 5: In the Desktop icon settings window, make sure the Recycle Bin checkbox is checked. If it is not checked, then please click on it.

Step 6: Click Apply and OK button to make changes and close the window.

 

Recycle Bin Settings To Desktop 11zon

 

Step 7: Press Windows + D keys together to go to Desktop directly.

Step 8: Locate the Recycle Bin icon and right click on it.

Step 9: Then, Select Properties from the context menu as shown below.

 

Recycle Bin Properties 11zon

 

Step 10: In the Recycle Bin Properties window, Click on Display delete confirmation dialog checkbox to make sure it is checked.

Step 11: Then, Click Apply and OK button to make changes and close the properties window.

 

Recycle Bin Properties Dialog Confirmation 11zon

 

Step 12: Now Right click on any file and click Delete icon in the context menu.


ADVERTISEMENT

Step 13: Now notice that the delete confirmation dialog box has been popped up on your screen.

Step 14: If in case, you do not want to see the delete confirmation dialog box, then go to desktop and right click on Recycle Bin icon.

Step 15: Then, select Properties from the context menu and please uncheck the Display delete confirmation dialog checkbox.

That’s it guys.

Hope this article was informative.

Please leave us comments below.

Thank you!

ADVERTISEMENT